Bild på Koppel / Karlzon / Andersen / Öström

Koppel / Karlzon / Andersen / Öström

Portable Infinity is an all-star quartet consisting of four of the strongest names on the contemporary international jazz scene, Arild Andersen, Jacob Karlzon, Benjamin Koppel and Magnus Öström, all familiar to the knowledgeable Fasching audience.

The quartet’s music is newly written but has references to Ornette Coleman, Cannonball Adderley and also to avant-garde musicians such as Laurie Anderson.

Master bass player Arild Andersen can deservedly be called a legend. With his warm tone and exquisite technique, he has made a lasting impression on the international jazz scene since the 1960s. The discography – 22 albums under his own name on ECM – is in itself a piece of jazz history. Over the years, he has appeared in numerous constellations with the best of jazz: Pat Metheny, Joshua Redman, Sonny Rollins, Don Cherry, Chick Corea, Dexter Gordon and George Russell. Already in 1967 he started playing with Jan Garbarek, Terje Rypdal and Jon Christensen.

The Swedish pianist Jacob Karlzon has released a series of critically acclaimed records on ACT and Warner and has long been established as one of Esbjörn Svensson’s clearest heirs.

Saxophonist Benjamin Koppel is one of European and Danish jazz’s most central pipe players with close to 60 albums as a soloist and through collaborations with Joe Lovano, Kenny Werner, Brian Blade, Jim Hall and Randy Brecker.

Swedish drummer Magnus Öström made an international name for himself through the style-creating jazz trio E.S.T., in recent years with the trio Rymden but also as a soloist with several record releases under his own name. He has also worked with artists such as Pat Metheny and Benny Golson and shows with his multifaceted and unique playing that he is undoubtedly one of Europe’s most important drummers.

Sharp, world-class fine jazz is guaranteed this evening at Kungsgatan 63 with this Scandinavian super quartet.

Benjamin Koppel – alto saxophone
Jacob Karlzon – piano
Arild Andersen – bass
Magnus Öström – drums